British Antarctic Territory

The British Antarctic Territory (BAT) is a sector of Antarctica claimed by the United Kingdom as one of its 14 British Overseas Territories with the UK’s claim to this part of Antarctica the oldest of any made on the continent. The territory is inhabited by the staff of research and support stations operated and maintained by the British Antarctic Survey. In 2012, the southern part of the territory was named Queen Elizabeth Land in honour of Queen Elizabeth II.