British Virgin Islands

The British Virgin Islands (BVI) is a British Overseas Territory, located in the Caribbean to the east of Puerto Rico. The islands were originally named ‘Saint Ursula and the 11,000 virgins’ in 1493 by Colombus but this was later shortened to ‘The Virgin Islands’. The British Virgin Islands consist of the main islands of Tortola, Virgin Gorda, Anegada and Jost Van Dyke, along with more than 50 other smaller islands and cays, with about 16 of the islands are inhabited. The islands have a total population of about 28,000, of whom approximately 23,000 live on the largest island in the B.V.I., Tortola.