Known officially as the Republic of Seychelles, Seychelles (SEY) is an archipelagic island country consisting of 115 islands in the Indian Ocean, off East Africa. Seychelles is among the world's leading countries to protect lands for threatened species, allocating 42% of its territory for conservation and is known today for success stories in protecting its flora and fauna. Their official currency is the Seychelles Rupee.