Sierra Leone

Officially known as the Republic of Sierra Leone, informally Salone, Sierra Leone (SLE) is a country on the southwest coast of West Africa. The country takes its name from the Lion Mountains near its capital, Freetown. The wildlife of Sierra Leone is very diverse due to the variety of different habitats within the country. Sierra Leone is home to approximately 2090 known higher plant species, 147 known species of mammals, 172 known breeding bird species, 67 known reptile species, 35 known amphibian species and 99 known species of fish.