Originally known as the "crown of the double rose", the Crown coin was an English coin introduced as part of King Henry VIII's monetary reform of 1526. The British crown, the successor to the English crown and the Scottish dollar, came into existence after the union of the kingdoms of England and Scotland in 1707.