Isle of Man 2007 - Centenary of the TT Races: Stanley Woods - Proof Sterling Silver Coin

Product Code: L6669702

Interested in purchasing this coin? Contact today to enquire about availability. Please remember to state which metal you wish to purchase the coin in.

Coin Highlights

  • 2007 Proof Sterling Silver
  • Issued on behalf of the Isle of Man
  • Issue: 10,000
  • Unique presentation box and certificate
  • Also available as: Uncirculated Cupro Nickel


2007 saw the 100th Birthday of the famous TT Races.  To celebrate this special event the Isle of Man Government have approved the release of a series of five collector's coins from Pobjoy Mint depicting some of the most iconic riders from TT history.

This incredible proof sterling silver coin in the Isle of Man TT series features Stanley Woods, the Irish motor cyclist who won the race 10 times in his career.

Motor racing first came to the Isle of Man when the Gordon Bennett car trials were held.  In England, the Government would not allow the public roads to be closed for any type of motor racing so a proposal was put forward to the Isle of Man Government.  The Manx Government agreed to the closing of the public roads for motor racing and new legislation was brought in.  The 1907 Isle of Man Tourist Trophy was the first of the Isle of Man TT races which took place on 28th May and started what was to become a major annual event attended by motor cyclists from all over the world.  

The obverse of each commemorative coin features a fine effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Lord of Man by Ian Rank-Broadley FRBS FSNAD.  Available in Cupro Nickel and Sterling Silver, each precious metal coin has been carefully struck four times to attain the famous Pobjoy proof finish and features frosted high relief sculpting against mirror brilliant background.  

Show more

The coins in this IOM series feature the following TT legends:

  • Charlie Collier – the British motor cyclist who won the first single cylinder class race in 1907 on his Matchless motorcycle in just over 4 hours at an average race speed of 38.21mph.
  • Stanley Woods – the Irish motor cyclist who won the race 10 times in his career, the first in 1923 and the last in 1939.
  • Geoff Duke – a British racer who dominated motorcycle racing in the 1950s, he won the TT races 5 times.  As he made so many of his world record breaking rides during these races, a point on the Mountain Course is actually named after him.
  • Mike Hailwood – known as Mike ‘The Bike’ because of his natural riding ability, he is regarded by many as possibly the greatest racer of all time.  By 1967 he had won 12 times on the infamous island mountain course.
  • Joey Dunlop MBE OBE – an incomparable 26 TT wins between 1976 and 2000 on machines from 125cc to 1000cc made Joey the undisputed King of the Mountain.  Joey Dunlop was tragically killed while racing in Estonia in 2000.

A new 50 pence piece is also being issued which features the Manxman Dave Molyneux with his motorcycle and sidecar.  Molyneux is the fastest ever Sidecar driver around the TT courses.

Pobjoy Mint aims to dispatch all in stock items within 48 hours.

US Postage:

USA delivery charges:
- $0 - $79.99 = $5.00
- $80.00-$149.99 = $7.50
- $150.00-$229.99 = $10.00
- $230.00-$499.99 = $15.00
- $500.00-$749.99 = $20.00
- $750.00-$999.99 = $25.00
- $1000 - $4999.99 = $35.00
- $5,000 + = $50.00

North and South America (Excl USA) delivery charges:
- $0 - $49.99 $7.50
- $50.00-$99.99 $15.00
- $100.00-$199.99 $20.00
- $200.00-$499.99 $30.00
- $500.00-$999.99 $50.00
- $1000 - $4999.99 + $100.00

For more details on postage charges please see our Delivery Information page.

Metal Proof Sterling Silver
Diameter 38.60mm
Weight 28.28gms
Issue Limit 10,000