Celebrate Seven TT Race Legends - 2015 Cupro Nickel 50p

Product Code: L4460400


In Stock

Coin Highlights

  • 2015 Uncirculated Cupro Nickel
  • Issued on behalf of the Isle of Man
  • Issue: Unlimited
  • Unique presentation pouch
  • Also available as: Proof Sterling Silver


Pobjoy Mint is delighted to announce the release of a new Fifty Pence coin which honours seven of the great TT Motorcycle Race Legends.  The coin is released on behalf of the Isle of Man Government.

There is nothing on earth quite like the Isle of Man TT Races.  No other motorcycle race is held on such a challenging track as the 37 mile plus Mountain Course with its never-ending series of bends, bumps, jumps, stone walls, manhole covers and telegraph poles.  The skill, bravery and concentration required are immense with speeds approaching 200mph.  No other motorsport even can boast more than 100 years of such illustrious history, rich in tradition and legends.

Seven of the great TT Legends are celebrated on this new Fifty Pence.  The central design shows two motorcyclists racing around the track and the logo is also shown.  The names of the motorcycling stars are shown around the seven edges of the coin.

Show more
  • Geoff Duke OBE – the British multi-time motorcycle Grand Prix road racing world champion dominated motorcycle racing in the 1950s, winning six World Championships and six Isle of Man TT Races.
  • Mike Hailwood – regarded as many as on the greatest racers of all time, Hailwood was known as ‘Mike the Bike’ because of his natural riding ability which earned him 14 TT victories and 9 World Championship titles.
  • John McGuinness – McGuinness started his winning ways at the Isle of Man TT in 1999 and 2013 saw him add his 20th victory to the record books.  He has won just about every solo class from 250cc to Superbike and everything in between with only the TT Zero title eluding him so far.
  • Giacomo Agostini – an immensely skilful and courageous rider, Agostini was a real crowd pleaser.  The Italian star rode in just 16 TT races and won ten of them.  During his TT years he gave the crowds many thrilling races and is especially remembered for the spectacular battle between himself and Hailwood in the Diamond Jubilee Senior TT.
  • David Jefferies – a ‘giant’ of a racing competitor, the six times winner first rode in the TT in 1996 and took the newcomers award.  In 1999 Jefferies joined the elite band of riders to record a hat-trick with victories in the Formula One, Production and Senior, a feat he repeated in 2000 and 2001.
  • Bob McIntyre – McIntyre secured his place in TT history as the first man to break 100mph on a motorbike which does not sound like such a feat in this day and age, but in 1957 it was compared to the four minute mile or breaking the sound barrier.
  • Joey Dunlop – ‘King of the Road’ Joey Dunlop OBE MBE first saw the course in 1976.  Altogether his number of wins total a record breaking 26 wins.  In 2005 Joey Dunlop was voted the fifth greatest motorcycling icon ever.

The obverse of each coin bears a fine couped effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Lord of Man by Ian Rank-Broadley FRBS.  Available in Cupro Nickel and Proof Sterling Silver, each precious metal coin has been carefully struck four times and details to perfection.  

Pobjoy Mint aims to dispatch all in stock items within 48 hours.

US Postage:

USA delivery charges:
- $0 - $79.99 = $5.00
- $80.00-$149.99 = $7.50
- $150.00-$229.99 = $10.00
- $230.00-$499.99 = $15.00
- $500.00-$749.99 = $20.00
- $750.00-$999.99 = $25.00
- $1000 - $4999.99 = $35.00
- $5,000 + = $50.00

North and South America (Excl USA) delivery charges:
- $0 - $49.99 $7.50
- $50.00-$99.99 $15.00
- $100.00-$199.99 $20.00
- $200.00-$499.99 $30.00
- $500.00-$999.99 $50.00
- $1000 - $4999.99 + $100.00

For more details on postage charges please see our Delivery Information page.

Metal Cupro Nickel
Diameter 27.30mm
Weight 8.00gms
Issue Limit Unlimited